Season 2015

Alternative Link to Season 2014 Schedule and Results
Click here

Season 2014

Alternative Link to Season 2014 Schedule and Results
Click here

Season 2013

Alternative Link to Season 2013 Schedule and Results

Click here

Season 2012

Alternative Link to Season 2012 Schedule and Results

Click Here

Season 2011

Alternative links to the 2011 Season fixtures and results;

Click here

Season 2010

Men’s Finnish Champions: Helsinki Warriors
Women’s Finnish Champions: Jyväskylä Rugby Club Ladies
Men’s Finnish Cup Winners: Vaasa Wolves

There are two male leagues sanctioned by the SRL: the Finnish Championship and the Finnish Cup. These leagues are considered separate from each other and so competing teams are not subject to relegation and promotion.

The Championship is the premier division in Finland. Each team plays every other team twice throughout the season; once home and once away. The regular season winner advances automatically to the Championship Final while the second- and third-placed teams play in a single semi-final – hosted by the regular season runner-up – for the other Championship Final spot.

The Finnish Cup is aimed at development. The competition is itself split into two divisions: the Finnish Cup North, which follows a traditional round-robin home-and-away format, and the Finnish Cup South, which uses a tournament-based structure. At the end of the regular season, the division winners and runners-up advance to the semi-finals which are hosted by the higher-ranked team within their respective divisions (each divisional winner plays the runner-up from the other). The winners of these two semi-finals proceed to play in the Finnish Cup Final. The Northern Division plays a round-robin league.

There are two competitions within women’s rugby: the Women’s 7s and the Women’s Championship. These competitions are run consecutively with the 7s being contested in the first half of the season and the XV-a-side Championship occupying the latter. While the rugby 7s is tournament-based with the most successful team across sanctioned tournaments being declared the winner, the Women’s Championship follows a home-and-away structure. At the end of the regular Championship season, the top two teams play in the Women’s Championship Final and the third- and fourth-ranked teams play in a third/fourth playoff match.

Junior rugby in Finland is growing but numbers are currently limited. As a result, there is currently only one competitive junior league and this features players ranging from 15 years of age to 18. The Junior Championship is played through a tournament-based structure and teams are subsequently ranked by their success in these tournaments. At the end of the regular season, the two top-ranked teams play in the Junior Championship Final.

This post is also available in: Finnish